My Photo
Location: Brooklyn, NY, United States

11 July 2015

A Book of Spirits and Thieves (Spirits and Thieves #1)

A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes is the first book in her Spirits and Thieves series - which partly takes place in her world of Mythica from the Falling Kingdoms series.

Crys and Becca Hatcher live in Toronto above their family's bookstore, the Speckled Muse. Becca and her mother love books more than anything. Crys stopped reading about the time her father left and is more focused on photography. When a package comes from their aunt, Crys opens it - even though it is addressed to her mother.

After Crys looks at the old book she passes it on to her sister. But when Becca opens the book, she is frozen in place. A light comes out of the book and swirls around her. Then she falls to the ground unresponsive.

Farrell Grayson is part of a secret society in Toronto. The Hawkspear society has been around for sixty years. And its members believe it is run by a god. Farrell is about to move up to the inner circle.

Maddox lives in the land of Mythica. He has the ability to see spirits, but witches are put to death in his land by decree of the ruler - the goddess Valoria. For his whole life, spirits have been a dark, angry presence. But now, Maddox can see a beautiful girl who says her name is Becca.

Rhodes created a wonderful world with Mythica. This new book combines that world with present day Toronto is an all new series. Rhodes is a great fantasy writer.

Rhodes, Morgan. (2015). A Book of Spirits and Thieves. New York: Razor Bill.

Labels: , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home