My Photo
Location: Brooklyn, NY, United States

01 November 2013

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas is the first book in her Throne of Glass series about an assassin who must pass a test to become the king's champion or be doomed to a short life in a work prison.

Calaena Sardothien is the Assassin of Adarlan. But few know that the infamous assassin is a woman who is only eighteen, though her work is well known. After a year in the salt mines of Endovier, Calaena is told she is to return to the capital city of Rifthold to a contest to become the king's champion. She is being sponsored by his son, crown prince Dorian, partly to spite his father. If she wins, she will serve the king for four years and then earn her freedom.

Twenty-three members of the king's counsel are sponsoring possible champions. Calaena is the only woman, but not the only assassin. Others include soldiers, jewel thieves and murderers. They will face a series of tests by the weapon master, each test eliminating one contestant until the last four face off in a duel. But someone or something in the castle is killing contestants.

Maas has created a world where readers will lose themselves. Calaena is a complex and compelling character fans will cheer. Great beginning to the series that has been called a cross between Hunger Games and Game of Thrones.

Maas, Sarah. J. (2012). Throne of Glass. New York: Bloomsbury.

Labels: , , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home