My Photo
Location: Brooklyn, NY, United States

25 November 2013

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas is the second book in her Throne of Glass series - a great fantasy series about a female assassin in a medieval setting where magic has been forbidden.

The King's Champion, aka Adarlan's Assassin, Calaena Sardothien is not your average champion. She hates the king she works for and would love to overthrown the crown. But her role as champion is a trade - four years of service for her freedom.

Princess Nehemia, from the land of Eyllwe, that the king recently conquered is staying at the castle and has become Calaena's best friend. Together they are trying to defy the king without getting caught. Nehemia wants her land to be freed and knows that the king is using some ancient power to keep the people in line.

Though magic has been outlawed, Calaena is finding evidence of it under the castle in the ancient catacombs. She will continue to explore and study the wyrdmarks to find out how the king came to power so quickly and how to free those he has enslaved.

Maas has created a great fantasy series. Fans of Kristin Cashore will love this series!

Maas, Sarah. (2013). Crown of Midnight. New York: Bloomsbury.

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home