My Photo
Location: Brooklyn, NY, United States

27 January 2009

Graceling (Seven Kingdoms #1)

Graceling is the debut novel by Kristin Cashore. It is the first in a series featuring the same land if not always the same characters.

When people are born with an extreme skill it is called a grace and the person a Graceling. The skill is accompanied by the changing of their eye color so that the eyes are two different colors.

Katsa's grace is the grace of killing - a grace she is burdened with and must learn to control so that she doesn't hurt someone she does not intend to hurt. Her uncle, the king of Middluns uses her grace to keep his citizens in line. Her reputation as a thug has spread across all seven kingdoms that make up the land. But Katsa does not enjoy hurting others.

To balance the pain she causes in the name of the king, Katsa has formed a secret council that helps people. During the council rescue of an old man she meets a strange man from the kingdom of Lienid - the first person she has met who can almost match her skill as a fighter. Together they will explore their graces and try to save a young princess in trouble.

Cashore has written a great young adult fantasy novel in Graceling. I will be watching her closely awaiting her next book!

Cashore, Kristin. (2008). Graceling. New York: Houghton Mifflin.

Labels: , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home