My Photo
Name:
Location: Brooklyn, NY, United States

01 September 2009

The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller #1)

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss is the first book in his Kingkiller Trilogy. Fans of George R.R. Martin's Song of Fire and Ice series will love it.

Kvothe is a legend. There are so many stories about him it is hard to tell what is true and what is exaggeration. What nobody knows about his is that he is hiding in a small village running an inn and using the name Kote.

When a chronicler comes to town he recognizes Kvothe. After some bargaining Kvothe agrees to tell his story so that it may be written down accurately. It will take three days to tell and the first day comprises the first book.

Kvothe is a Edema Ruh who was raised in his family's traveling band of performers who entertained all over the land while traveling in their Gypsy-like wagons. He was taught the beginnings of Sympathy (magic) from a man who traveled with them for a time. His dream was to get to University and study the thousands of books in the Archives.

This first book follows Kvothe's life through his time at University - a place that could be described as an adult version of Hogwarts. I cannot say much else without spoilers, but fans of Tolkien, Nix, Martin and LeGuin will love this book. My only complaint is that the second book has not yet be published.

Rothfuss, Patrick. (2007). The Name of the Wind. New York: DAW Books.

Labels: , , , , , ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home