My Photo
Location: Brooklyn, NY, United States

19 February 2014

The Burning Sky (Elemental #1)

The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas is the first book in the Elemental series, a fantasy series set in both 1883 England and a magical Realm next door.

Iolanthe Seaborne has been hiding all of her life. He guardian has moved her from school to school where hopes to hide her from the Bane and his Inquisitor. As an elemental mage she may be targets for her powers. But Iolanthe doesn't think she is in too much danger. Until the day she needs to fix a spell that has been ruined.

When she calls lightning from the sky everything changes. Prince Titus has been waiting for an elemental mage to call lightning as seen by his mother's prophecy. He has already set up a place to hid the mage - whom he was convinced was going to be a boy.

Thomas has written a great fantasy novel to begin this series. The characters and magic feel real and readers will want to follow them for many adventures to come. Even the very first page captures the imagination:

"This is the story of a girl who fooled a thousand boys, a boy who fooled an entire country, a partnership that would change the fate of realms, and a power to challenge the greatest tyrant the world have ever know. Expect magic."

Thomas, Sherry. (2013). The Burning Sky. New York: Balzer and Bray.

Labels: , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home