My Photo
Location: Brooklyn, NY, United States

07 November 2007

Anne McCaffrey's books of Pern

I have now read eleven of Anne McCaffrey's book that take place on the planet of Pern. They have all been great. My one complaint along the way was not knowing the order in which to read them. So, here are two ideas for you. One is recommended by Anne McCaffrey (I found it in the 10th book) and the other is in chronological order in the history of Pern.

McCaffrey Recommeded Order:

Dragonriders Trilogy:
The White Dragon

Haper Hall Trilogy: (overlaps time with Dragonriders trilogy)


Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern

Nerilka's Story

MasterHarper of Pern

All the Weyrs of Pern

The Skies of Pern

(4 others - don't know the order.)

Historical Timeline:
It may be that if you read them in historical order you miss things that were revealed by the order thye were written in...

Dragonsdawn - the founding of the planet by people from Earth and nearby planets.
Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern - A plague strikes the Northern Continent
Nerlika's Story - Overlaps with Moreta, plague from a different point of view.
MasterHarper of Pern - the story of Robinton
Dragonflight - The story of Lessa who becomes Weyrwoman of Benden Weyr
Dragonquest - A trip back in time to save Pern
The White Dragon - Ruth and Jaxom of Ruatha
Dragonsong - Story of Menolly of Half Circle Sea Hold
Dragonsinger - A continuation of Dragonsong
Dragondrums - The story of Piemur
All the Weyrs of Pern - The discover of the computer Aivas
The Skies of Pern - A new role for dragonriders

Other books (I haven't yet read and will fit add to lists later)
The Renegades of Pern
The Dolphins of Pern
The Chornicals of Pern: First Fall
Plus books written by Todd McCaffrey that continue the series?

Labels: , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home