My Photo
Location: Brooklyn, NY, United States

21 July 2007

Trickster's Choice (Daughter of the Lioness #1)

Trickster's Choice is the first of two books in Tamora Pierce's Daughter of the Lioness. This series is another that takes place in Tortall and comes after the Protector of the Small series.

Aly is the daughter of the King's Champion, Alanna the Lioness and George Cooper of Pirate's Swoop. She is sixteen and her parents are pressuring her to decide what she will do with her life. The one things she wants to do, they disapprove of - she wants to be a spy like her father.

Aly would make a great spy. She began her training right out of the crib. With a father who is the former King of the Rogues, she has had an excellent teacher. But, of course, her parents do not want her to put herself in harms way.

After an argument with her mother, Aly decides to go sailing. She plans to visit a relative until her mother's month of leave from the war with Scanran is over. During her solo voyage down the coast to her relatives, she is captured by pirates.

She is taken to the Copper Islands and sold as a slave. Aly takes this kidnapping in stride. She calmly plans her escape, thinking that it will prove to her parents that she can take care of herself.

But as residents of Tamora Pierce's books know, when one of the gods become involved, nothing goes according to plan. She makes a wager with the god - Kyprioth, the Trickster - to protect two noble sisters through the summer. Will she be able to keep them from harm? Will the Trickster release her if she succeeds?

Pierce, Tamora. (2003). Trickster's Choice. New York: Random House.

Labels: , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home