My Photo
Location: Brooklyn, NY, United States

16 December 2015

Truthwitch (Witchlands #1)

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard is the first book in her Witchlands series set in a world ruled by three empires that have been at war for centuries and are now almost to the end of a twenty year truce.

Safiya and Iseult are Threadsisters, their fates and emotions tied together through an earlier act that sealed their friendship. Now they do everything together - even though they are from very different backgrounds.

Safiya fon Hasstrel is a Domna (lady) of Cartorra. She has been raised to take her place in the courts with the other high born. Safi is a truthwitch - she knows when someone is telling the truth or lying. It is a rare witchery and could be used for political gain if she was found out.

Iseult is from despised people, the Nomatsi, who are wanderers. Her looks cause much prejudice in people. As a threadwitch she can see the threads coming from people, the threads that tie communities together - often made up of emotions. She can see the mindset of a crowd or if someone is scared or angry.

As the twenty year truce approaches its end, there is a summit between nations to try to continue the peace - or at least a couple people are there for peace. Others are positioning for the restart of the war.

Dennard has created a great beginning to the series. Her world building is great and her characters are wonderfully real and flawed. This is going to be an awesome series. Truthwitch comes out on January 5, 2016.

Dennard, Susan. (2016). Truthwitch. New York: Tor Teen.

Labels: , , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home