My Photo
Location: Brooklyn, NY, United States

03 April 2014

Deathsworn (Deathsworn #1)

Deathsworn by Leah Cypress is the first book in her Deathsworn series featuring a sorceress who is losing her powers and is sent to be the new magic teacher for the assassins.

Ileni is a Renegai sorceress. She was thought to be one of the strongest magicians ever, but her magic is starting to fade. With all of the skill in the world, no magic means no spells. The Elders have decided to send her to the Assassin's Caves to teach magic. The last two Renegai sorcerers who were sent were killed.

While Ileni is scared to meet the Assassins - her people are taught to fear the young men who only leave their mountain cave to murder - she is resigned to her fate and doesn't really want to face a life without magic.

Sorin is one of the best Assassins. He is still young, but the life expectancy for an assassin is low. He has been assigned by the Master of Assassins to keep Ileni safe while she is in the caves. Sorin does not question the master, he just obeys. He knows that the master has a plan. It is the goal of the Assassins to take down the Empire with strategic assassinations.

The world in Deathsworn reminds me of the world in Trudi Canavan's Black Magician trilogy. In both the world is divided between two groups of people - those who steal magic from others and those who would never do black magic. This book also has the group of assassin, but the worlds are complementary I recommend reading bot series.

Cypess, Leah. (2014). Deathsworn. New York: Greenwillow Books.

Labels: , , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home