My Photo
Location: Brooklyn, NY, United States

16 September 2012

The Other Countess (Lacey Chronicles #1)

The Other Countess by Eve Edwards is the first book in her series of historical romance. The books take place in England in the 1580s.

Lady Eleanor Rodriguez, Countess of San Jaime is the daughter of an alchemist. Her father is convinced that with just a bit more experimentation he can turn lead into gold. However, from Ellie's point of view, her father is not only obsessed, he is ruining their lives. At the age of 12, they were kicked out of the Earl of Dorset's house when the Earl died and all his son saw was the money spent on experiments.

Since then Ellie has not had a life that anyone with the title Countess is used to - but then again her title is Spanish and England and Spain are not on the best of terms. After almost four years of living by selling everything they own, including everything her mother left her, Ellie's father has found another noble who is willing to sponsor his alchemy.

When the family they are living with go to court, Ellie finds herself at Windsor preparing for the arrival of the Queen. Nobles from all over England are arriving to pay their respects and compete in the joust. And one of them is the new Earl of Windsor, William Lacey, the man who kicked her and her father out of his house four years ago.

Will is at court to find a bride. His family is slowly recovering from his father's reign, but it takes most of the remaining fortune to appear at court in the latest fashions. He must marry a woman with a large dowry to be able to take care of his family and the people who live on his lands.

Edwards captures the magic and the rigidness of the time period in this historical novel. The characters are well developed and compelling. Readers will run to the library to get the second book in the series as soon as they finish this one.

Edwards, Eve. (2010). The Other Countess. New York: Delacourte Press.

Labels: , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home