My Photo
Location: Brooklyn, NY, United States

28 March 2018

Tempest and Slaughter (Numair Chronicles #1)

Tempest and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce is the start to her latest Tortall series – one of the best fantasy worlds ever created in young adult fiction. If you have not read Tamora Pierce, get started today!

In the land across the Inland Sea from Tortall, Arram Draper is in magic school at the Imperial University of Carthak. As a foreigner and younger than his classmates, he does not have many friends. But when his magic gets out of control, showing the masters that his gift is strong, he is moved up to the higher classes. Here he is even younger, but meets Varice and Prince Ozorne, who quickly become his best friends and protectors.

Varice is a strong witch who is interested in practical applications for music. She spends much time in the kitchen learning cooking magic, even though it is thought of as a lower form of magic. Ozorne, seventh in line for the throne of Carthak, is focused on battle magic and types that will help him in the world of politics – even though as the seventh prince there is little chance he will see the throne.

Arram Draper is an especially strong mage whose focus will include water magic, healing arts and an ability to speak to gods – which fans of Tamora Pierce know is not necessarily a good thing!

This new series in the Tortall cannon, is as wonderful as fans would expect. Pierce is a master of story-telling. READ the Tortall books! Buy some today! Do not wait, you are missing out if you have not started yet!

Pierce, Tamora. (2018). Tempests and Slaughter. New York: Random House.

Labels: , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home