My Photo
Location: Brooklyn, NY, United States

29 June 2010

I Am Number Four

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore is the first book in a series about a group of nine children from the planet Lorien. They were sent to Earth along with adult keepers as a hope for the future. Unfortunately, the Mogadorians who destroyed Lorien followed them to Earth to kill them.

The nine can only be killed in number order due to a set of protections they carry. Number three was just killed. Number Four, current name Daniel Jones, and his keeper Henri are about to move once again. In Four's fifteen years, they have moved and changed identities 21 times.

This book has some elements that give it great potential as a science fiction series. However, the story falls short of its potential by lacking a well defined picture of life on Lorien. It is a bit too similar to life on Earth to be believable. The result is a light read that would entertain during vacation but will not necessarily hold readers' interest through the series.

Though the book will not be published until September of this year, a movie deal has already been signed. It will likely be a huge teen success.

Lore, Pittacus. (2010). I Am Number Four. New York: Harper.

Labels: , , ,


Anonymous Anonymous said...

I read this book as well, and enjoyed it a great deal. I have to disagree with you, however, on the incomplete picture of Lorien. I think the fact that it's incomplete as of now (one book in) is very much in align with John's (Number Four's) point, i.e. why go back when I hardly remember it and when there's really nothing to go back to? And I think what he remembers as a four year old, which is to say, the age at which he left, is very realistic for a kid that young. I'd be very surprised if a much better image of Lorien isn't further painted when we meet more of the surviving Garde in later books. But for me, I thought the incomplete picture helped ground the first book in reality...

05 July, 2010 17:48  

Post a Comment

<< Home